City Council
Economic Development
Economic Development
Rental Facilities
Online Payments
City of Lanesboro Minnesota

**Meeting minutes are not official, and therefore can not be posted, until the governing board approves them at the following meeting**

Lanesboro City Council

Regular Meeting

Monday, October 7th, 2019

Regular Meeting 6:00 p.m.

City Council Chambers


Present:  Jason Resseman, Tom Smith, Bridget Harvey, and Chase Bakke

Absent:   Autumn Johnson

Visitors:  Bonita Underbakke, Hannah Wingert, David Haugen, Andrzej Zalasinkski, Don Bell, Mike and Kathy Seiler, Liz Bucheit, Michael Seiler, Lori Bakke, and Kara Maloney.

Mayor Resseman called the Regular Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Regular Meeting:

A.      Agenda:  Member Harvey motioned to approve the agenda with the amendments of: additions of DNR Lease Agreement, HPC applicant, and Administrator Report as well as removal of December Council Meeting Date and Time.  Member Bakke seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.

B.      Approval of Minutes:

  1. Minutes of the Regular Meeting, September 3rd, 2019

Member Harvey motioned to approve the minutes as submitted.  Member Bakke seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.

 C.      Consent Agenda:

  1. Accounts Payable
  2. MMUA Safety Management Program
  3. Resolution 2019-20 Adopting Assessment
  4. LMCIT – Liability Insurance Waiver
  5. Arlan Faulk sons of Norway Grant – Fiscal Agent Request
  6. 2020 City of Lanesboro Liquor Licenses
  7. State Fire Marshall Grant Application – New Dryer


Mayor Resseman requested that the Holst Fill Site Agreement be removed from the Consent Agenda for discussion.  Member Bakke motioned to approve the consent agenda items as submitted.  Member Harvey seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.

Administrator Peterson noted that an annual payment of $100 had been added to the Holst Fill Site Agreement.  Mayor Resseman motioned to approve the agreement.  Member Bakke seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.

Regular Business:

A.      Alley – Michael Seiler and Liz Bucheit:  Michael Seiler presented concerns for the condition of the alley that runs parallel between Parkway Avenue North and the River.  The concern is specific to the work done by MN Energy and the damaged caused from that project.  Administrator Peterson noted that the City Engineer had evaluated the site last year, the determination was that preexisting condition of the alley was the problem.  Peterson will ask the City Engineer to reevaluate the site this fall, and report back.

B.      Fire Equipment Fund Payment Request:  Fire Chief David Haugen reported the Fire Department had approved payment of $15,000 in 2019 and $15,000 payable in 2020 to Quality Mechanical for the restoration of the 1940 Lanesboro Fire Truck.  Member Harvey motioned to approve the payments to Quality Mechanical.  Member Smith seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.

C.      DNR Lease Agreement:   Administrator Peterson noted that the Park Board had negotiated the lease agreement with the MN DNR for the office space at the Depot building.  Mayor Resseman motioned to approve the lease agreement as presented.  Member Bakke seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.                                                                                                                                                                                                         D.      Miscellaneous:

1.       HPC Application:  Member Harvey motioned to appoint Sara Xavier to the Heritage Preservation Commission.  Member Bakke seconded the motion.  Motion carried all in favor.

2.       Administrator Report:  Administrator Peterson reported that she is back to work full time.  As well will be out of the office for a regional LMC meeting on October 30th.  Finally, it was discussed that the Council will hold budget workshop meetings 5:00 p.m. prior to the November and December Council meetings.

Next Meeting:  Monday, November 4th, 2019 at 6:00 p.m.

ADJOURN: Member Bakke moved to adjourn at 6:13 p.m. Motion seconded by Member Smith.  Motion Carried all in favor.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michele Peterson

City Administrator/Clerk



This Municipality is an equal opportunity provider and employer.
City of Lanesboro, Minnesota
507-467-3722 -